Land of Our Lady History Series (Set of 5)

Land of Our Lady History Series (Set of 5)

By Sr. M. Benedict Joseph, SNJM, Sr. M. Clarita, OP, Sr. M. Theresine, SND, Sr. M. Augusta, HHM, Sr. M. Veronica, SPBV
Product Code: 9781505124095

No reviews yet. Write review.

CAD $140.95
Sunrise Marian Loyalty Points

This item will earn 140 loyalty reward points. Learn about loyalty points >

Currently out of stock. Order now to reserve an incoming shipment of this product.


Product Description

The Land of Our Lady world and early-American history textbook series consists of reprints of 1950s books composed by Sr. M. Benedict Joseph, SNJM, Sr. M. Veronica, SPBV, Sr. M. Clarita, OP, Sr. M. Theresine, SND, and Sr. M. Augusta, HHM. This series devotes more focus to church history and to social action than is typical of history texts for elementary school students. The content is more extensive than in modern writings, as is the case in most older texts. 

All five of these books are bound in gorgeous and long-lasting foil-stamped hardcovers. They include artwork, pictures, and maps in black-and-white. Vocabulary lists, discussion questions, quizzes, and exercises are included at the end of each chapter. A mastery test and a summary of the highlights of each unit are included at the end. 

Each book in this Land of Our Lady series contains a concise yet interesting record of a specific period in American history—always taking care to explain the Catholic influence of religion, culture, and morality. Every private Catholic school, home-schooling family, and library will greatly benefit from this Catholic textbook series. 

The first book in the series, Founders of Freedom, provides an overview of world history. This fourth-grade text begins with a biblical account of Adam and Eve's creation, then moves on to ancient civilizations including the Egyptians, Greeks, and Romans with particular emphasis on the birth and growth of Christianity leading up to the discovery of the New World. 

The second book suggested for fifth graders, Bearers of Freedom chronicles the expansion of global trade, explorations, and the discovery of the New World by Columbus, ending with the French and Indian War. 

Students will learn about developing discontent in the American colonies through the American Revolution and into the early 1800s in Leaders of Freedom for sixth grade. This text begins with events leading up to the Revolutionary War and ends with an overview of early American education, literature, and inventions. This book as well as the following two books of the series contain the texts of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. 

The Challenge of Freedom for seventh grade begins with Andrew Jackson's election in the early 1800s and continues with the United States' expansion, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. It particularly reviews the exploration of the West and ends with a description of America as she becomes an industrial nation. During that period, immigration, science and technology, agriculture, education, and culture are all discussed in detail. 

Guardian of Freedom for eighth grade spans the post-Civil War period to the 1950s. It begins with the acquisition of Alaska and Hawaii and ends with the Korean War. As one might imagine in the years leading up to the Cold War, there is a strong anti-Communist tone throughout this text. This does not, however; detract from the underlying history and lessons contained therein.

Read More
Read Less



There are no reviews for this item yet.