Gregorian Requiem: Chants of the Requiem Mass CD

Gregorian Requiem: Chants of the Requiem Mass CD

By Gloriae Dei Cantores Schola
Product Code: 9781557255198

No reviews yet. Write review.

CAD $23.95
Sunrise Marian Loyalty Points

This item will earn 23 loyalty reward points. Learn about loyalty points >

Currently out of stock. Order now to reserve an incoming shipment of this product.


Product Description

One of the most frequently performed Masses of the Medieval period, the Requiem Mass forms the centerpiece of Gloriæ Dei Cantores Schola's acclaimed recording Gregorian Requiem. Not only are two traditional masses included, but there are antiphons for the vigil prior to the funeral, antiphons changed in the church beforehand, as well as chants sung as the casket leaves the church. Included also is the sequence Dies irae, dies illa, best known for its inclusion in more modern Requiems such as those by Mozart, Verdi and Durufle. Thus, this recording presents a medieval funeral mass, as it would have been chanted in the fourteenth century.

Gloriæ Dei Cantores Schola brings a wealth of experience to the chants, as they have chanted the offices for thirty years. They are particularly known for their sensitivity to text and phrasing, and have spent many years studying the rhythmic aspects of the chants as reflected in the Laon manuscript, among others. This re-release follows their tradition of subtle, elegant interpretations of Gregorian chant that are most moving and worshipful.


1. Antiphon: Apud Dominum & Ps. 129
2. Antiphon: Habitabit & Ps. 14
3. Antiphon: Subvenire Sancti Dei
4. Antiphon: Rogamus Te, Domine
5. Antiphon: Antequam Nascerer
6. Antiphon: Credo Quod Redemptor
7. Antiphon: Qui Lazarum
8. Antiphon: Libera Me, Domine
9. Introit: Requiem Aeternam & Ps. 64
10. Kyrie XVIIIB
11. Gradual: Requiem Aeternam
12. Tract: Absolve, Domine, Animas Omnium
13. Sequence: Dies Irae, Dies Illa
14. Offertory: Domine Iesu Christe
15. Sanctus/Benedictus XVIII
16. Agnus Dei XVIII
17. Communion: Lux Aeterna, Luceat Eis, Domine
18. Introit: Sicut Oculi Servorum & Ps. 122
19. Gradual: Convertere, Domine Aliquantulum
20. Tract: De Profundis Clamavi
21. Offertory: Domine Convertere
22. Communion: Amen Dico Vobis
23. Anitphons: In Paradisum/Chorus Angelorum
24. Antiphon & Canticle: Ego Sum Resurrectio Et Vita/Bendictus


"The phrasing is carefully shaped, the articulation and intonation are precise, and the diction is crystal clear. In sum, this is a fine recording by a fine group: certainly a standout among the relatively large number of chant recordings abroad these days."
—The American Organist

Read More
Read Less



There are no reviews for this item yet.

Best Sellers


Customers who bought this item also bought